An Election Conversation With My Kids

election-conversation

One week ago, the kids and I ventured out to the polls for early voting.  The “big kids” (my 5-year-old, Rowan and my 3-year-old, June) had decided who they would vote for, hypothetically, by watching snippets of the debates.  This was our pre-voting conversation- June contributing in ASL.

Me: OK, guys, let’s go vote!
June: I’m scared of boats.
Me: Not boat. Vote.  V-O-T-E. [I showed her the ASL sign VOTE  see here.]
June: Vote, not boat, V-O-T-E. What’s vote?
Me: It’s where I pick who I want to be in our government.
June: Who you vote for?
Me: I’m voting for Hillary Clinton.
Rowan: I’m voting for the same person, the girl in the red shirt [in the first debate].
June: I vote for the moon and stars.
Me: That sounds good, June.  The election is very important because the people who we elect make decisions about our whole country.
Rowan: Maybe our president will help Ms. Clinton.
Me: Probably, because our president and Ms. Clinton are in the same political party.
June: OOh! I go vote. See the party.
Me: It’s a different kind of party. Ok, let’s go vote!
June: I vote. Not boat. With talker in my backpack. [Her new AAC device to communicate with people verbally.]

The kids and I excitedly made our way to the early voting location, which was conveniently located at a church that we frequent for Deaf ministry events.
Me: Ok now, we gotta be quiet while we choose.
Rowan: Why?
Me: So other people can make their choices too. What’s happening here is very important.
Rowan: Why?
Me: Well, whoever wins will be president until you are nine years old. And we want to pick the people who will make the choices that we want them to.
June: I pick the stars and moon and water.

While explaining our voting experience to Greg, later–
Rowan: We picked Ms. Clinton!  She’s our president now.
Me: No, actually, we don’t know who won yet. Everyone in the country gets to vote, then only one person wins.
Rowan: Why is that?
Me: Because our country only has one president, and everyone gets to vote for which person they want to win.  On election day we’ll keep track of it on a big map and find out who the next president is.

Tomorrow is the big day!

Follow along with us tomorrow using the electoral college map printable or digital version and other free election resources from:

Scholastic News 

C-SPAN Classroom

Smithsonian Education

 

Posted on November 7, 2016, in Active, American Sign Language, Decisions, Homeschool, Kids, Medically complex, Purposeful living, Quote, Safari house, Special Needs, Technology, Tracheostomy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Barbara McNerney

    LOL

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

